Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  

SA U18............

Recommended Posts

The South African Under-18 Sevens squad arrived in Buenos Aires on Monday and are raring to go as they prepare to make their Youth Olympic Games debut this weekend.

Marius Schoeman, who will coach the side, made only two changes to the team that successfully defended their African Youth Games title in Algeria in July, which allowed them to qualify for the tournament in Argentina, with Diego Appollis and Mnombo Zwelendaba featuring in the 12-member squad.

Schoeman’s charges will face Japan and France on the opening day at Club Atletico San Isidro sede la Boya on Saturday, which will be followed by clashes against the USA and Argentina on Sunday, and Samoa on Monday in the pool stages. The round-robin games will be followed immediately by the final stages. “This is the first time that we participate in the Youth Olympic Games and we are very excited about the challenge,” said Schoeman. “Our biggest challenge is the fact that we have not had much time together as a squad as a result of examinations and the school program but we all agree that this is a fantastic opportunity to prove ourselves.

“This tournament will serve as a big boost in the players’ development and for our Sevens structures, as it will offer the players the best possible chance to test themselves against the top sides in the world in a prestigious international event. “The last big international event we participated in was the Commonwealth Youth Games in 2015 in Samoa, and we won that tournament.

“Almost 80% of that squad has achieved higher honours in the sport, with the likes of Damian Willemse, Embrose Papier and Curwin Bosch earning Springbok caps, while Stedman Gans, Heino Bezuidenhout and Mfundo Ndhlovu have gone on to represent the Springbok Sevens, and Hacjivah Dayimani and Manie Libbok have become key figures in the Currie Cup.

1. Diego Appollis

2. Ross Braude

3. Christie Grobbelaar

4. Celempilo Gumede

5. Kobus Hattingh

6. Louwan Horn

7. Dawid Kellerman

8. Muzi Manyike

9. Ofentse Maubane

10. Tiaan Pretorius

11. William Rose

12. Mnombo Zwelendaba

Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Restore formatting

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

  • Who's Online   1 Member, 0 Anonymous, 13 Guests (See full list)

  • Forum Statistics

    Total Topics
    Total Posts
  • Member Statistics

    Total Members
    Most Online
    Newest Member
  • Create New...